Miss Fortune Clothing

If you love Rockabilly, psychobilly & vintage inspired threads, then you may very well already be aware of Miss Fortune Clothing! Arising in 2005, founder Laura Fortune has definitely been making a name for herself with her retro style designs. We had a little chat with her to find out more about her and the brand…

Words: Dominique Marshall Photos: Miss Rain Photography

What sparked your interest in fashion design?
I didn’t realise that I wanted to do fashion until I had already spent 5 years in higher education, first doing architecture, which I packed in, and then a foundation year, followed by a degree in sustainable design. To be honest I couldn’t decide what I wanted to do. I was interested in lots of artistic disciplines, but it wasn’t until I got onto the fashion course that I found something that I seem to have a knack for. When I have time I like to keep up with what’s going on on the catwalks, a lot of it doesn’t interest me but I’m fascinated by anything dramatic, theatrical or architectural. I like what I do, don’t get me wrong, but I’d just love to have the opportunity to try my hand at some full-on haute couture!

Why the name ‘Miss Fortune’?
Well, while I was still in education and starting to do my own designs in my own time I got the opportunity to take part in an ‘open studio’ event at some local designer/makers start up studios. My friend had a studio and was going to be away, so I opened up her studio and had some space in there to show off the few designs I had. I felt I needed a name to go under and Miss Fortune was the only one of my late night scribblings the night before the event that really stood out! I liked the ambiguity, the idea that you might get good fortune or bad. I immediately started to think of her as a character and for me she was like the anti-lady luck, a bit more devious and deceptive!

Read the full interview in the new issue of Rebelicious!

